h1

1 Favorite Thing + 1 Favorite Thing = A New Blog

November 29, 2008

I love stories. When I was little, I used to beg my mom and dad to tell me stories from their childhood. I remember the thrill of hearing Mom say she had remembered a new story to tell us, and I never tired of hearing repeats of old ones. She cultivated a real love of memory-telling in me.

Now that I am grown up, that love of stories has grown right along with me. I realized I had a problem when I saw I could study straight through fifteen minutes of football but got completely distracted by commercials. Never mind that I have no real interest in seeing a woman dance giddily with a Swiffer duster – I had to see how it would turn out anyway.

When I started dating my now husband, John, he pointed out to me another passion I did not know I had. He got the impression right away that I love to relive memories. Maybe it was my incessant chatter about my childhood… He was a wonderful listening ear for me and still is. However, it is time for me to combine two of my favorite things – storytelling and remembering – into an online outlet.

First, a few rules of the blog are in order and are as follows:

  1. I will use only first names of family members. Can’t have the public Googling us all the time, can we?
  2. I will only tell stories of events that are at least a year old. This is not a diary, and this is my foolproof method to keep it that way.
  3. Any family members who stumble across a post they don’t appreciate are welcome to let me know, at which point I will remove the offending information immediately. I want to avoid becoming the family black sheep at all costs.
  4. This isn’t much of a rule – more like an invitation. Guest posts and story suggestions from family are always welcome. Any personal stories are welcomed as comments or e-mails (the address is memoriesblogger at Gmail).

I’m super excited to get started. Let the memory fun begin!

2 comments

  1. I had to laugh… I love your sense of humour! I have been blogging a little bit lately about my childhood ~ and that seems like forever ago. But there is something special about recalling our childhood, and the stories seem to get funnier the older we get.
    In my edition of ‘7 Quick Takes’, I featured a favourite breakfast cereal that goes hand-in-hand with my childhood memories.

    This is my first visit here, and I enjoyed it, thank you!


  2. I’m so glad you stopped by! I will make a point to check out your site in the next couple of days – I have been lax about blogging with the rush of the holidays. Glad to meet you!



Leave a Reply

