h1

Rememory Friday

December 5, 2008

I intend to follow the example of Jennifer at ConversionDiary and institute a special recurring Friday post dedicated to rememories. If you are not familiar with that term, I have composed a definition below.

Rememory: a past event which is not detailed enough to warrant a full post but which is sufficiently memorable to be featured in quicktake-style.

Each Friday will bring with it a rememories post for your reading enjoyment. Now put your hands together and let me hear you cheer for the first installment of rememories ever!

1

The header on this page is a small portion of a painting that hangs in my parents’ house. The artist is my grandmother, Dodie, who passed away in 2007. I have lots of good Grandma Dodie stories for later. She is my favorite artist!

(Note to my parents: Someday, I would like to have that painting, please.)

2

I do not recall a single instance during the preschool years when either Ben or I rode in the car without a sippy cup of juice or water. Mom made it a ritual – get your coat on, get your sippy cup, and (if you were Ben) get your 9-foot bumper pad of a blankie, and we were out the door. On the occasions when we did make it into the car without a sippy cup, we were sure to remind Mom. It didn’t happen very often.

3

All of the aunts on Mom’s side of the family compete often for the title of Favorite Aunt. Family gatherings at which everyone is present are their favorite time to wrap their arms around a niece or nephew and proclaim that they, in fact, are the favorite aunt. Of course, this action merely provokes some other aunt to find another niece or nephew and counter that claim. The uncles stay out of the competition entirely, which is probably wise.

4

Before Ben cared about whether his hair was buzzed, bowl cut or flat topped, Mom used to do his hair cuts. Using an electric trimmer was cheaper and easier – just put him on a stool on the outdoor deck and trim away. The only problem was that Mom did not keep close track of which trimmer head she normally used. The day that she buzzed Ben bald was the last day she tried to trim his hair. A quick call to her sister-in-law, Colleen, was damage control, but once you have buzzed hair down to 1/16th of an inch straight down the center of the scalp, the amount of damage that can be controlled is very limited.

5

At the age of fourteen, my sister Shannon taught a semester-long Latin class to me and several other peers at a home education coop. At the time, both learning Latin at all and having to learn it from my older sister especially seemed like a necessary evil. Now I have to wonder… was it even legal? She did a good job, though – I still remember Ora et Labora, at least.

6

Writing about family memories is interesting. i have thought of several great moments that I would love to catalog here, but I am a little bit nervous about exposing a family member’s hilarious but perhaps embarrassing stories to public scrutiny. I may have to institute an approval process for such memories, and that is fine. My biggest fear is writing about something that I do not think is shameful at all, only to get in trouble for it later. I’ve never liked getting in trouble.

7

For the most part, our childhood playtime was governed very much by gender-specific toys. Ben played with G.I. Joes, and I played with Barbies. By the term “played with”, I mean that we devoted a hugely significant portion of our formative years to these pursuits. The only problem with the strict gender differentiation of our toys was that Ben could not very well play by himself, at least not with any enjoyment. He would therefore beg me to play with him, which I was only willing to do if Barbies could somehow be incorporated. The resulting scenario required a great deal of imagination to pull off: 2.5″ G.I. Joes with subconscious inferiority complexes gallantly defending 10″ Barbies who were more concerned with what to wear to the party than with their own physical safety.

2 comments

  1. Hi! Visiting from Jen’s. Love the GI Joe/Barbie story. Sounds like modern Hollywood 🙂


  2. Great to read your fantastic memories 🙂 I have also popped over from Jen’s…



Leave a Reply

